AUTOMOBILE AND BOAT TITLES
TITLES WILL NOT BE PROCESSED AFTER 3:30 P.M.
You must have Alabama insurance on your vehicle before it can be tagged.
You must have a drivers license number or ID number when registering a vehicle.
When transferring ownership on a title, the purchaser(s) must be here to sign the title application unless they give someone Power of Attorney for them.
You must be a resident of Autauga County to have vehicles registered here.
Anytime our office applies for a first time Alabama title on a vehicle, the vehicle will need to be here for inspection.
You have 20 calendar days from the date of purchase to register your vehicle.
If you do not renew your tag during your renewal month or if you are over your 20 days registering your vehicle, a $15.00 penalty will be added.
We do not inspect vehicles after 3:30 or when it is raining.
Alabama does not title watercraft.
We accept the following methods of payment only: cash, check, and money orders. We do not accept out of state checks, unless you are an active member of the military.
In-State Title Transfers
Buyer must present the following documents:
Original title signed over to buyer on back of title
Bill of Sale
Buyer will pay the following fees:
Title fee of $18.00
Sales tax of 3.1% or 2.6% of purchase price (if purchased from an individual).
Any applicable ad valorem tax and license fees
No strike-outs or alterations are permitted in assignments. All signatures must be identical to names on the supporting documents. White-out will void the title completely.
If the previous owner of the vehicle is deceased, the following applies:
If will was probated, buyer will present documents noted above along with “Letters of Testamentary.”
If will was not probated, buyer will present a copy of the death certificate and a “Next of Kin” form which must include the notarized signature of the individual named as next of kin.
All documents must have the signature of the above named individual, i.e., title, bill of sale, etc.
DRIVER LICENSES AND PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION CARDS
Persons who have never had an Alabama Driver License or ID card must apply at the Driver License Examiners Office at 165 West Fifth Street, Prattville, AL 36067.
Persons applying for a first time driver license or for an Alabama Identification Card must provide two forms of identification. Contact the Drivers License Examiner for a list of acceptable forms of identification. Persons applying for a drivers license will be administered a written exam, an eye exam, and a road test. Persons moving into Alabama from another State may surrender the out-of-State license and take an eye exam. Persons wishing to obtain an identification card (including those with suspended Alabama Drivers License) must first apply at the Drivers License Examiner Office. An administration fee of $5.00 is required for each application. The fee for a license or identification card is $23.00. A temporary license orID card, with a picture, will be issued. The original will be mailed at a later date from the Alabama Department of Public Safety. Persons notreceiving their license within 60 days should contact the Department of Public Safety at 334-2642-4400.
Persons with a suspended drivers license must apply to the Department of Public Safety for re-instatement. Upon payment of re-instatement fees, the applicant may obtain a duplicate drivers license at any Probate Office in Alabama with the letter of re-instatement as well as two forms of identification.
Motorized Vessel License
Persons 12 years and older may operate a motorized vessel on Alabama waterways. You must be licensed. A written examination is required for applicants, except those who are 40 or older on April 23, 1994, or those who have successfully completed boating courses given by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, the U.S. Power Squadron or the Alabama Marine Police “Boating Basics” course. The vessel class “V” must be added to your license if you intend to operate a motorized vessel.You can do this at the Drivers License Examiner office at:
165 West Fifth Street, Prattville, AL 36067.
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 am – 4:30 pm (closed for lunch 12:00 noon – 1:00 pm)
Change of Address
CARD HOLDERS HAVE 30 DAYS TO REPORT A CHANGE IN ADDRESS TO:
Alabama Department of Public Safety
Central Records Unit
P.O. Box 1471
Montgomery, Alabama 36102-1471
Fraudulent and counterfeit driver licenses and ID cards should be reported to the Alabama Department of Public Safety by calling 334-353-7091.
HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSES
Hunting and fishing licenses are required for Alabama residents 16 years old and under the age of 65 and non-residents 16 years and older. A current valid Alabama Drivers License is required to purchase a resident hunting license. Those with a non-driver identification may purchase a resident fishing license with one of the following:
• Certificate of employment if containing proof of permanent residence.
• Copy of home property tax.
• Copy of previous year’s tax return(mailing address only)
• Health insurance forms with address; Medicate etc.
• The last three months of an utility bill with mailing address.
• Student ID plus copy of residence agreement or any other proof of residence listed.
• Military personnel with an out-of-state drivers license must have a copy of order of assignment to Alabama for a minimum of 30 days or have Alabama as home of record (HOR)
• Health insurance card with address.
• Telephone calling cards with address.
• Copy of school registration for non-driving students.
• Voter registration
• Other legal documents that may establish residence after approval by the Conservation Department.
A NON-DRIVER IDENTIFICATION CARD, ISSUED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY, IS NOT ACCEPTABLE PROOF OF RESIDENCE.
ALL PERSONS BORN ON OR AFTER AUGUST 1, 1977, MUST BE A CERTIFIED HUNTER EDUCATION COURSE GRADUATE BEFORE BUYING A HUNTING LICENSE. INFORMATION FOR THE HUNTER EDUCATION COURSE CAN BE OBTAINED BY CALLING 334-361-7273 (AUTAUGA) OR 334-243620.
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CONCERNING HUNTING AND FISHING, GO TO: http://www.outdooralabama.com.
REGISTRATION AND TAG RENEWAL
For information about registering your vehicle, click here.
For information about tag renewal, click here.